ADF International

White Papers

Anti-Conversion Laws

Anti-Conversion Laws

Four countries in South and Southeast Asia—India, Nepal, Myanmar, and Bhutan—have laws that severely regulate religious conversion. Government officials and the police, in line with increasingly nationalist politicians and lawmakers, selectively enforce these laws, effectively banning conversion from the majority religion to a minority religion, in particular Christianity and Islam. This article examines the language of these anti-conversion laws, the political and religious contexts in which they became law, and their effects on religious minorities.

Sign Up To Download 'Anti-Conversion Laws'

    We treat your personal data with care and in compliance with applicable law. Please visit for a full overview.

  • By signing up to receive this paper, you will also be able to stay up-to-date on issues threatening religious freedom via our monthly e-newsletter.
arrow-circle-up Top